Friday, May 19, 2006

Landmarks Silver Series – Canberra

The Perth Mint Australia has released the next in the Landmarks Silver Series featuring the Capital of Australia, Canberra.

The coin's reverse depicts Canberra, the Australian national capital. The city was designed by US architect Walter Burley Griffin, winner of the Federal Capital Design Competition launched in 1911. Built around Lake Burley Griffen, Canberra's grand scheme includes wide boulevards, imposing buildings and beautiful green spaces aligned with pleasing symmetry.

The coin's reverse depicts the evening sky in color above Parliament House, which overlooks Canberra. The year-date and The Perth Mint's traditional ‘P’ mintmark also appear in the design.

The coin is issued as legal tender under the Australian Currency Act 1965, the coin depicts Ian Rank-Broadley's effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on its obverse.

Full Specifications
Canberra - 2006 1oz Proof Coin
Features Australia's Iconic Landmarks
Proof Quality 99.9% Pure Silver
Landmarks Theme - Canberra
Colored Reverse Design
Australian Legal Tender
Uniquely Australian Packaging
Numbered Certificate of Authenticity
Limited Mintage
Proof Quality 99.9% Pure Silver
This 2006-dated coin is struck from 1oz of 99.9% pure silver in proof quality.


Each coin is housed in a superb presentation case with a lid made from Australian She Oak timber. The case comes in a protective outer shipper featuring Discover Australia's distinctive logo.

Each coin is accompanied by a numbered Certificate of Authenticity.

The Perth Mint will release no more than 7,500 of these coins worldwide.

No comments: